Quick Quiche

I had never been a fan of quiche before, and frankly, I actually didn’t even like it. I had given up on it for many many years, and then I Came across this simpler, quick quiche recipe. I thought “Why not?” because I didn’t have to make any pie crusts or anything. That, and it only had 4 steps! And I had everything I needed at home anyway.

The original recipe can be found here: Allrecipes.com: Quick Quiche.

I found it to be actually quite yummy. It was still alright as leftovers, but you need to make sure it’s heated thoroughly when reheated. Cold egg just isn’t very appealing.

Serves 4-5.

Ingredients:

  • 4 slices of bacon
  • 1/2 cup of cheddar cheese
  • 2 tbsp butter, melted
  • 4 eggs, beaten
  • 1/4 cup finely chopped onion
  • 1/4 cup finely chopped green onion
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 skim milk

How-To:

Preheat oven to 350F.

Fry the bacon in a pan until cooked. Drain the oil and pat dry the bacon with paper towels to remove excess oil. Crumble (or use a knife to cut into small pieces) and layer into the 9 inch pie pan. (Allrecipes calls for a light greasing of the pan. I don’t remember if I did. I would think that the oil from the bacon and cheese would have been enough.)

Layer the cheese into the pan. Mix with bacon if desired.

In a large bowl, combine the melted butter, eggs, onion, green onion, salt, flour and milk. Whisk together until smooth (the flour may clump up quite a bit. Keep whisking it!). Carefully pour into pie pan.

Place into oven for 35 minutes until set (use the toothpick method). Make sure the middle reaches 74C!

Serve hot.

Favourite part: the “crust.” 🙂

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

