Archive for December 14th, 2012

December 14, 2012

Teriyaki Udon (without the Teriyaki)

Teriyaki Udon - Without the Teriyaki

So first of all, let me make this clear: this is not a teriyaki udon recipe. I didn’t have any teriyaki sauce at home, so I used other things. I do make this more often than other foods I’ve made just because it’s so easy and so delicious!

As a side note, I will not be doing in depth restaurant reviews. I’m not sure if I should be doing them at all because of my career path as a health inspector..

Anyway, on with the udon! (Haha! So clever!)

Ingredients:

  • Two packages of udon noodles
  • A handful of bean sprouts, washed
  • One medium sized carrot, peeled and grated
  • Half of a small onion, diced
  • 5 white mushrooms, washed and sliced
  • Pepper to taste
  • 1 tbsp oyster sauce (instead of the teriyaki sauce!)

How-To:

Bring a pot of water to a boil and throw in the udon. Boil until it becomes the consistency that you like. Remove from heat and drain.

Heat up a pan with a bit of oil. How I tell if it is hot enough is if the oil starts to run around the pan freely when tilting the pan or by throwing in a piece of onion. If it sizzles a lot, it’s good to go. Throw in the rest of the onions and saute until starting to brown. Throw in the mushrooms. Saute until desired softness (I like mine relatively soft with little crunch to it). Set aside.

With the same hot pan, throw in the carrots and bean sprouts. The water that comes off of the bean sprouts should sizzle and jump — this is fine. You can add a few tablespoons of water and cover it for  2-3 minutes, or just stand there and toss like I did.

Throw the onions and mushrooms back in to heat them back up, then add the udon. Mix thoroughly. Add oyster sauce. Mix thoroughly.

Put into two bowls.

Eat!

Serves 2.