Slow Cooker Sticky Chicken Drumsticks

Slow Cooker Sticky Chicken Drumsticks

(I have the worst luck with picture editing..) Anyway, this was tonight’s dinner. I have to say that this is probably one of the best dishes I have ever made! My most proudest moment!

I didn’t know what I was going to make for dinner tonight, and Mom came up and said “There’s drumsticks in the fridge.” So the first thing I did was hit Google with “drumstick recipes” and this was one of the first ones to come up. Farmgirl Gourmet had the more delicious looking picture so I clicked it.

It took about 45 minutes to do the chicken because I have had no experience with skin removal. I just used the meat cleaver like my Mom does and hoped for the best. I managed to get most of it off, except right at the end where the bone is.

And then include about 10 minutes of trying to get the solid crystallized honey out of a narrow mouth plastic container.

Turns out, my family absolutely loved it. 3 of us went back for seconds just for the sauce on the rice! This is definitely going in to my recipe book!

Serves 5 (2 drumsticks each)

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup of honey
  • 1/2 cup of light brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup of balsamic vinegar
  • 6 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 2 tablespoons of ginger, minced
  • 2 teaspoons of Sambal Oelek ground chili paste (the original recipe calls for Sriracha, or another hot pepper sauce)
  • Ground pepper
  • 10 chicken drumsticks, skinned

Directions:

In a small sauce pan, combine the honey, sugar, balsamic vinegar, garlic, ginger, chili paste and ground pepper. Bring to a boil. Lower the temperature and let simmer for 5-10 minutes.

Place the drumsticks in the slow cooker and pour the sauce over the chicken. Mix the chicken completely with the sauce. Set the cook temperature to low and let cook for 1.5 hours. Turn over the chicken and turn the slow cooker to high for another 1.5 hours, turn over one more time half way through the second 1.5 hours. (The original recipe calls for high temperature for 4 hours, but the slow cooker manual that I have said set to high for 1-2 hours. I originally set it to low, but found that the chicken wasn’t all that cooked, so I just cranked up the heat.)

Remember to use a thermometer to ensure that the internal temperature of the thickest part of the chicken reaches 74C or higher!

Enjoy!

Click here for roasted carrots and zucchini (yup, that’s zucchini hiding in there)!

Leave a Reply

