Baked Salmon and Vegetables

Baked Salmon and Vegetables

So I was left with dinner tonight again, which is perfectly fine. I already figured I was going to make rice to finish some of that awesome sticky chicken sauce, and find some vegetables. Then Mom told me before she left to take my youngest sister to tutor that she had defrosted some fish. FISH. I’ve never done fish before! So of course I Googled it and came across this super handy website at seriouseats.com. Though I brought out my thermometer, I ended up not using it.

So what I did was heat up the oil in the pan medium-high. Once it was hot, I lay the fish skin down and it immediately started to sizzle and stick to the pan (not non-stick). Let it sit for 10-15 minutes at medium-high. Also find a thin, flexible spatula that can get between the salmon skin and the pan.

Do not scrape the salmon off the pan. It will come off when it is ready (or if you’re like me, you’ll have cut some awkward looking pieces. Then I turned the small one over after I peeled up a corner and found that it was very dark and scraping it off wasn’t all that hard). Then I waited a few more minutes and then separated all the others from the pan. Success!

I let it sit for another 5-10 minutes and had the oven turned to 350F. By the time the oven was fully heated, the top side of the fish was still raw. I put the whole pan (fish and pan) in the oven for 5-7 minutes, keeping an eye on it. Just make sure it turns light pink!

Side note: All I put on it was some Kosher salt and cracked black pepper.

And that’s it!

And for the vegetables, all I did was steam broccoli and Chinese cabbage.

Leave a Reply

