Sweet Potato Vermicelli

Potato Vermicelli

So tonight I made some noodles. The usual thing with our family is that if someone isn’t home when dinner is being prepared, then no dinner for the latecomer! At least that’s how it is for me — if I don’t show, then no food. That works for me, because that makes me more independent: don’t wait for me! I can cook food myself. So I do.

I took a look in the fridge upstairs, then downstairs, then the freezer. Nothing really appealed. Then I took a look at the table and saw some noodles that my mom had bought. Of course, if anything is different from the norm, nobody will touch it, except me. I’ve never made potato vermicelli before, so I picked up the package and took it with me upstairs. I just read the instructions, and there I went, making dinner and way too much of it. I ended up eating all of it because I was scared it wasn’t going to be all that good the next day. Anyway, the result turned out great! Minus the food baby.

Ingredients:

  • Half of a 400 g package of potato vermicelli (this will feed 2-3 people, or one reallllly hungry person, so for one person, maybe use a 1/3 of the package). I’ll attach a picture at the bottom.
  • 1 chicken thigh, sliced
  • 1 tbsp light soy sauce
  • Half of a carrot, grated
  • Half of a cucumber, sliced however you like
  • 1/3 of a medium red onion (this one had been sitting in the fridge a while, so what would be 1/3 of a fresh onion was really only 1/4 all fridge-dried and stuff)

Sauce portion:

  • 4 tbsp light soy sauce (estimated)
  • 1 tsp ground black pepper (estimated)
  • 1 tbsp sesame oil (estimated)
  • 3 pinches of white sugar

Directions:

Heat up a pan with a little bit of cooking oil, and cook the chicken slices until half way done. Add some soy sauce (1 tbsp) and then continue to cook the chicken until done. Set aside.

Boil the noodles for about 5 minutes. Taste a bit of noodle to make sure it is soft enough. These noodles should be like jelly and soft all the way through, not al dente like pasta. Yuck. Rinse with cold water and set aside.

While that’s boiling, using the same pan as the chicken on medium heat, add a little bit of oil again, then saute the onions and carrots. When they’re soft, add the cucumber. Toss a few times, let the cucumber soften. Set aside.

Now, the sauce: To save on dishwashing, use that same pan again and throw in all the sauce ingredients. Let it simmer on low heat so the sugar dissolves instead of burning. Once that’s done, add the noodles and toss to coat the noodles. Then add the chicken and vegetables. You can turn up the heat to medium again so to warm up the whole dish. I’ve always liked my noodles warm.

Eat!

Potato Vermicelli package

I also realize that I have a strong lack of descriptors for every post I’ve written so far. I can say that this dish tastes… Asian?

Leave a Reply

