Crock Pot Lasagna

Crock Pot Lasagna - Before Before

Crock Pot Lasagna - After  After

So lately I’ve been looking in to crock pot recipes (as fondly remember how my Mom would always accidentally say “crack pot”). I’ve always been in to single-bowl recipes: throwing everything in to a pot or pan and having it done with, whether or not there is time in between cooking of each item. My biggest problem in the kitchen is using one bowl for each item, and one spoon for each tasting. As a health inspector, I can’t stand to cross contaminate!

I made this on Sunday at a friend’s place. Turned out quite well, except 2 hours wasn’t quite enough because some of the noodles came out al dente, which I like for spaghetti/fettuccine/etc, but not so much lasagna.   Definitely will cook it for 2.5 hours this time.

You can use whatever you like, really, and as much as you want. I’m not particularly a cheese person (I love cheese, don’t get me wrong, I just don’t like too much of it at one sitting. However, I LOVE crispy cheese. I meant the kind that browns on the top in the oven.), but I really like it in this recipe.

I admit that I eyeballed the whole thing, so the measurements for the spices are definitely estimates.

Ingredients:
0.78 kg regular ground beef
250 g lasagna noodles, uncooked (about half a box)
750 mL 2% cottage cheese
1 medium-sized zucchini, sliced 2-3 mm
400 mL pasta sauce
Cheese, grated
2 tsp oregano
1 tsp ground pepper
A pinch of salt
A sprinkle of parsley as garnish
Crock pot

Directions:
Brown the meat completely in a pot or pan, and drain the excess oil. Sprinkle in oregano, ground pepper and salt, and mix well. Set aside.

Now pull out the crock pot. Spread some pasta sauce on the bottom, and lay down a layer of noodles, breaking them as needed. Then half of the cottage cheese, half of the ground beef, noodles. Then a good layer of sauce, the rest of the cottage cheese, layer all of the zucchini, more sauce. Then noodles, sauce, and cheese. Then sprinkle on the parsley. So really, the layering would look like this (from top to bottom):

(top)
Parsley
Cheese
Pasta sauce
Noodles
Pasta sauce
Zucchini
Cottage cheese
Pasta sauce
Noodles
Ground beef
Cottage cheese
Noodles
Sauce
(bottom).

Easy enough! Now put the lid on, set your crock pot on high for 2.5  hours, and done! Now you just have to find something to do for 2.5 hours. Add maybe 30 minutes to rest so the excess water will disappear from the bottom. I would think that crock pots vary in temperature just like ovens, so it would be best to wait the 2.5 hours without peeking, then take a spatula to it to see if the noodles are soft.

After all that… eat it!!

Leave a Reply

