Tzatziki

image

Tzatziki is one of those wonderful foods that can go with anything. I’m a bit lactose intolerant, but I really couldn’t care less, because the gassy stomach is just not bad enough to pass it up. At this moment, I am eating it with a piece of bread because pita here in Wanaka (as with everything else in Wanaka) is far too expensive. And tzatziki is so easy to make!

So I might have the recipe down now, since I’ve been play with it for a bit (30 minutes yesterday trying to balance the yogurt and dill). I found a recipe but ended up discarding it altogether and trying to remake what a friend and I had done at her house a few weeks before I left for New Zealand. It’s pretty simple. I eyeballed most of it, so here’s what I got:

Serves: 1-2
Prep time: 15 minutes

Ingredients:
– 1 cup plain Greek yogurt
– half a telegraph cucumber, shredded and with the water squeezed out of it
– 1 tsp dried dill tips (you can use fresh dill, and/or not the tips. Dried dill tips is all I could find here when I needed it)
– 1 clove garlic, minced
– a few drops of lemon juice

Directions:
Mix it all together.

Done!

Leave a Reply

