Soy Sauce Chicken

image

Being away from home and Mom means having to prepare Chinese food on my own. Not that I can’t cook, I just haven’t made actual specialty Chinese dishes. So I tried it today because I had a craving, and because I had chicken labeled “Use by or freeze within 24 hours.”

It came out amazing!! Of course, I had some help from my Chinese flatmate. She gave me some ginger I didn’t have.

Ingredients:
– 6 chicken wings (the whole wing, the 3-piece bit)
– 2 chicken legs (because I was going to stir fry it but decided just to throw it all in)
– 1 cup light soy sauce
– 3 cups water (or less or more to cover the chicken)
– 2 chunks of ginger (just cut off a piece)
– 5 cloves of garlic, roughly sliced
– 2 tablespoons white sugar

Directions:
Put chicken, soy sauce and water in a pot and bring to boil. Turn down the heat to a simmer and add the ginger, garlic, and sugar.

Let simmer for 45 minutes (or more). I have to admit, I let this cook over dinner. It was a almost an hour.

The chicken should fall off the bone. I think I could have had dinner #2 consisting of only soy sauce chicken. So happy tonight…

Leave a Reply

