Carrot Cake

carrotcake

Tried my hand at baking for the first time in what.. 2+ years. I’m typically a “mains” kind of person, so whatever goes in the oven is something like lasagna, vegetables, baked rice, etc.

I present to you my carrot cake. I picked out a recipe from online and decided to make it. It was cake recipe, not a loaf, so when it went in the oven, it bubbled over. Good thing it was baking in one of those adjustable loaf tins. All I did was clean it up half way through, lengthen the tin, and threw it back in.

Pretty rough and messy, but ah well. If you shave off the outside like bread crust, it definitely looks alright. It tastes pretty good anyway.

  • 4 eggs
  • 3/4 cup canola oil
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 3 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 3 cups grated carrots
  • 1 cup chopped pecans
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg

Preheat oven to 350F. Grease and flour a 12 inch loaf tin.

In a large bowl (I used our KitchenAid mixer), beat eggs, oil, sugar, and vanilla. Mix in flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt and cinnamon. Fold in the carrots. Pour in to tin.

(With reference to the previous step, I was a total noob. I stopped the mixer, dumped all of the dry ingredients in at once, and turned it on again. Don’t do it.)

Bake for 40-50 minutes, or until toothpick inserted in to the centre of the loaf comes out clean. Let cool in pan for 10 minutes, then remove from tin, and cool completely.

The recipe also calls for frosting, but I left that out. If I did make frosting, it would be a cream cheese frosting. Aw yeahhhhh.

Recipe from: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/7402/carrot-cake-iii/

Tags: , ,

2 Comments to “Carrot Cake”

  1. It looks great! Well done!! I’m the opposite of you, I’m typically a “cake and muffins” kind of person hehe. I just baked and posted about carrot cake too!

    • Aw, thanks!! One of my friends is like you, and we’ve been trying to get together to share my main, and her dessert. Alas, our schedules are almost completely different.

      I’ll have to check out your blog to get some good tips on how to do some proper baking! Thanks again for stopping by. 🙂

Leave a Reply

