Lingbol (Spagbol, except linguini)

Hi there! I know it’s been a suuuuuuuuuuuuper long time since I have posted here. I’ve been off on some crazy adventures overseas in New Zealand, and have been hectically looking for jobs, and things to do. I’ve recently picked up swimming again after 15 long years hiatus. You know that thing that happens when kids grow in to adults? Yeah. That scared me a lot as a child, but I’ve finally found a reason to get back in to it: Getting fit, and being stronger for my dragon boat team. It’s great. I’ve been practicing my dolphin kick. Not so much arms though for the butterfly, because I really don’t want to attract that much attention. It’s bad enough that I’m at the pool at the times where nobody except old and/or weird people are at the pool. I don’t wear contacts while swimming, so I can only see if they’re looking in my direction, and can only guess where they’re looking. I get especially suspicious when I’m at a spot along the wall where they is nothing behind me to look at. AWKWARD.

Anyway, here’s the picture.

lingbol

Ain’t that a pretty one! Considering my horrible skills with cameras, I think this one turned out quite well. I’m definitely a carnivore, so this here is a beef lingbol.

So I have to explain. Being in New Zealand has changed some of my vocabulary. They refer to “spaghetti bolognaise” as “spagbol.” I’ve adapted that to “lingbol,” which is “linguini bolognaise.” (This word did not exist until now.) TBH, though, what I’ve made isn’t really bolognaise. I don’t really know what it is… But I’ll let you sort that out.

Ingredients:

  • Linguini noodles
  • beef mince
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 1 stalk of spring onions, chopped
  • a handful of mushrooms, sliced
  • 12 oz can tomato sauce
  • cajun
  • oregano
  • cayenne pepper
  • a dash of Frank’s hot sauce
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • dried parsley

In a pot, cook the noodles.

While that’s boiling, in another pot, fry the onions, spring onions, mushrooms, and beef mince until brown. Drain the majority of the fat, but leave a little bit. Pour the tomato sauce in and simmer. Add spices.

Dish out the noodles on to plates, and put a ladle-ful of beef mince sauce on top. Dust with parsley. Serve.

Leave a Reply

