Scalloped Potatoes

potatoes

So I’ve been posting on Instagram about my food adventures in the kitchen, so I’ve done this a few weeks ago, and am just transferring the post to here. So here you go. I’m trying to take out all the hashtags, but if I miss one, I’m sorry!

Tonight’s dinner: scalloped potatoes.

  • 6-7 medium small potatoes, thinly sliced
  • 3 tablespoons butter
  • 3 tablespoons flour
  • 1-1/2 cup of 2% milk (recipe called for cream or evaporated milk, I forget, but this is all I had)
  • Cayenne pepper
  • Whatever cheese you like (I used Armstrong pizza cheese, white)
  • Paprika

 

Set oven to 350F.

Melt the butter and flour together in a pot. Add 1-1/2 cup of milk. Add half a handful of cheese and mix/melt. Add Cayenne pepper to taste.

Lightly oil an oven-safe ceramic or glass container and lay out the potato slices. Pour the sauce mix over the potatoes and mix it in (doesn’t have to be perfect, just so you get it generally throughout). Layer cheese, and sprinkle paprika to make pretty.

Heat for 35 minutes (more or less. My recipe said 1h, my cheese would have burnt to crisp. Could be white cheese vs yellow cheese, because white cheese burns easier. RACIST). Next time: No cheese in the mix. Just have it on top. A bit too much dairy for my Asian gut. This fed 4 people, with second helpings. Also will not have a second helping next time.

Coffee with a mate, Outrigger canoe, grocery shopping in paddle gear, home for dinner, and crashing in to bed.

Leave a Reply

